TRINITY LUTHERAN CHURCH 114th Annual Meeting February 26, 2023

The 114th annual meeting of the Trinity Lutheran Church congregation was called to order by President Troy Zander at 11:40 a.m. in the Sanctuary. Pastor Mark Narum offered the opening prayer.

Troy noted Bob Wefald was serving as parliamentarian.

Attendance: 110 in the Sanctuary and 6 via Zoom.

<u>Minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting</u>: Matt McMerty moved to approve the February 27, 2022 annual meeting minutes. Second by Kirsten McIntyre and carried by a voice vote.

Year in Review: Troy highlighted several items from the 'Council President's Report' (page 10):

- Completed Phase I and II of our renovation projects;
- Retirement of Financial Director Julie Schaffner and transitioning Heather Baumann into that position as well as switching to a new accounting system (ICON); and
- Recently welcoming Pastor Martha HarriSon as our associate pastor.

<u>Board & Committee Reports</u>: Missy Kopp moved to accept the Board and Committee Reports (pages 10-19). Second by Julie Leer and carried by a voice vote.

<u>Trust Fund Update</u>: Dan Welsh reviewed the 2022 work of the Trust Fund Committee (page 11) and the Trust Fund financial report (page 28). Bob Wefald moved that the Trust Fund Report be approved. Second by Kelli Spilman and carried by a voice vote.

<u>2022 Financial/Audit Reports</u>: Kyle Gebhardt reviewed the 2022 financial report (page 30). Danette Welsh moved to accept the financial report as printed. Second by Colleen Peterson and carried by a voice vote.

Unfinished Business

<u>Capital Campaign Update</u>: Rick Clayburgh reported that as of December 31, 2022, we have received a total of \$1,111,815.74 in pledges and cash donations.

Fire Detection/Alarm & Renovation Plans—Year Three: Kyle Gebhardt moved the following motion:

- a. Trinity Lutheran expand its initial capital campaign to \$1.6 million for the purpose of adding fire detection/fire alarm to our list of needed improvements and add three more years to the campaign.
- b. The Council be authorized to immediately enter into contracts:
 - (1) to purchase and install the new projectors and screens as previously approved at the 2020 Annual Meeting;
 - (2) to purchase all hardware needed for the Fire Detection/Fire Alarm project and to begin installation up to the amount of cash available.
- c. The Council has the authority to seek any grant funding available to help cover costs of replacing or retrofitting lighting fixtures within the building, including for those locations already approved at the 2020 annual meeting and, if grants are received, council has the authority to enter into contracts to install the new lighting. Furthermore, this motion allows that if matching funds are needed to meet grant requirements that Council has the authority to use capital campaign funds to provide the matching funds.

- d. Council be given the authority to borrow money for the duration of the capital campaign only if the capital campaign cash-on-hand and outstanding pledges are sufficient to cover any debt incurred.
- e. The congregation continue to work toward completing all projects listed within the initial motion passed at the 2020 annual meeting.

Second by Eric Peterson. Discussion.

Mike Ness moved to amend the original motion to separate the fire detection/alarm system from the main motion. Second by Mike Horan. The amendment passed on a written ballot.

A motion was made to include only b.(1), c. and e. from the main motion. This passed by a show of hands vote.

Danette Welsh moved to vote on the rest of the main motion, which includes a. and b.(2), regarding the fire detection/alarm system in order to give the Council direction on how to proceed. Second by Marci Silrum. The motion failed with a written ballot.

New Business

Troy Zander presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Chris Berglund for his years of service on the Council. Troy thanked Susan Weiand for her years of service on the Trust Fund Committee.

Nominating Report and Election: Missy Kopp presented the 2023 Nominating Committee report:

President – Danette Welsh

1st Vice President – Kyle Gebhardt

2nd Vice President – Matt McMerty

Council – Barb Pfeifer, Denise Wetzel

Audit Committee – Steve Schilling

Synod Assembly Voting Members/Missouri Slope Rep. – Wanda Benz, Janell Gumke

Trust Fund Committee – Wendy Burman

Camp of the Cross (1-year term) – Tracie Siebel, Steve Schilling

Nominating Committee - Troy Zander, Kirsten McIntyre, Margaret Laib, Jody Link, Susan Ronning

Susan Wefald moved that a unanimous ballot be cast to elect the 2023 slate of nominees. Second by Mike Horan and carried by a voice vote.

<u>2023 Budget</u>: Susan Wefald moved that we adopt the proposed 2023 budget. Second by Margaret Fiechtner and carried by a voice vote.

Danette Welsh presented Troy Zander with a Certificate of Appreciation and thanked him for his years of service on the Council.

Pastor Martha HarriSon led us in the Lord's Prayer.

Meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Submitted,

Londa Rodahl, Secretary